T20 World Cup: India-Pakistan in the same group

The ICC, the governing body of world cricket, has announced the group division for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

India and Pakistan have been placed in the same group in Super-12. So the two neighboring countries, which are always rivals, will face each other in the group league. News ESPNcricinfo.

India will also face neighboring Afghanistan in the group stage match. Rashid Khan is also in the same group with India.

The group has been divided according to ICC Banking on 20 March, 2021. The 8 teams of the first round have been divided into two groups.

Sri Lanka is joined in Group A by Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia. Bangladesh is in Group B with Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman.

Two teams from each of the two groups in the first round will advance to the Super Twelve. The Super-12 teams are again divided into two groups.

Last year’s champions West Indies are in Group-1. England, Australia and South Africa will fight them in groups. In addition, two teams from the first round will join them.

Group 2 includes India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and New Zealand. The other two teams will qualify from the first round.

If Bangladesh can win Group B in the first round, they will compete with India in the Super 12. In that case, the Mini Asia Cup can be seen in the T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup: India-Pakistan in the same group
T20 World Cup: India-Pakistan in the same group 3

T20 World Cup: Bangladesh in easy group

In order to play in the main round of the T20 World Cup which will start on October 17, Bangladesh will have to overcome the hurdle of the qualifying round.

Where eight teams will play divided into two groups. The favorites in Group A are in the easier group of Bangladesh as compared to Sri Lanka.

The final of the T20 World Cup will be played on November 14. The World Cup will be in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

However, the ICC has not yet released the full schedule of the qualifying round and the main draw.

Due to Corona, India is the main host of this year’s World Cup in two desert countries. After many incidents, BCCI and ICC finally reached this decision.

Indian cricket board has set the stage for the World Cup by announcing the group. Oman is going to come on the scene as the host with this year’s World Cup.

The head of the Indian Cricket Board, Sourav Ganguly, thinks this will increase the popularity of cricket in Oman and neighboring countries.

“It’s good news for Oman to emerge in world cricket,” he said. This will increase the interest of young cricketers in the game.

Acting chief executive of the ICC Geoff Allardyce said, “We are happy to announce who is in which group for the World Cup. There will be some great competition in each group.”

He said, ‘Hopefully, this World Cup competition will provide insanity among our fans. This is going to be our first global tournament in an epidemic.’

Who is in which group

Group AGroup B
NetherlandsPapua New Guinea